November starters

Oh my God, look! Your baby is eating broccoli!
Feel free to boast about your child here.
And if it's not going so brilliantly yet? Come and have a right old whinge.

November starters

Postby kparker » 20 Nov 2015, 05:07

Hi all! I didn't notice a post for November starters (but that could be baby brain at work! Please redirect me if I've missed seeing it). So, I'm actually not a true beginner with baby led weaning. My three year old son was BLW. He basically wanted nothing to do with being spoon fed so we went this route. It took time for him to start actually "eating" but he got there! He's a great eater now (although still a toddler...he threw a fit about eating his beets at dinner tonight, but he's generally quite good). My daughter is now 6 months and you would think I would be more confident about weaning her but...I'm not! It's like I've forgotten everything. To be honest, I tried purees a bit and some cereal to see if it would "click" with her. But I'm a BLW mom at heart. Giving her different food from the family, and trying to come up with time to make it, seems pointless. I decided the second time around I should do what's familiar and so we're back to BLW. So far, she LOVES cucumber with tzatziki and had a hard time with the beets tonight at dinner. She loved it, but it was a bit firm and a piece broke off in her mouth that she didn't know what to do with. She didn't choke, but it scared me. Man, parenting! We've been here before, but it still freaks me out. I'd love to hear your stories as you are getting going, too.
kparker

Re: November starters

Postby Treeb » 20 Nov 2015, 20:34

Hello! I'm in the same position with this all seeming rather new again despite having a BLW 3 yo. Ours pretty much refuses to eat any cooked veg except green beans, but is generally quite happy with most raw veggies. I think he'd live on peanut butter, pepperoni, mac & cheese, and fruit if we let him!