recommend me a ssc please

Slings, buggies, carseats, cars, bike, trailers and Shanks' pony - however you and your baby are getting around, discuss it here. (Sling addicts ahoy!)

recommend me a ssc please

Postby CaelaCoo » 18 Jul 2015, 10:25

I am looking into getting an ssc for Connor. Currently have a Kari me wrap.

I quite like the look of the Mei tai....good or bad?

Please make some suggestions
*Moo moo's (26/03/13)*
*baby c (4/3/15)*
CaelaCoo

Re: recommend me a ssc please

Postby catkin » 18 Jul 2015, 12:01

A mei tai is not quite an SSC - SSC clips on, mei tai is tie straps. I've had both and loved them. I found a mei tai slightly more faff to get on but very very comfy; though my favourite buckles were super soft and comfy too.

For a little one, I think a thinner mei tai like a babyhawk is good; as they get older you may want more padding, we had an old melkaj with super soft thick cord straps.

I'm not an expert though, just what worked for us! Do you have a sling library near you? Our NCT run one where you can go and try on different things and hire one for a week to see if you like it.
Mum to Mouse b May 2009 & Little Hamster b Feb 2012.
catkin

Postby Kanga » 18 Jul 2015, 18:19

We've got an action baby carrier that we both get on with. I used a mei tai with dd & the ssc is definitely easier to use.
Mummy to 2 gorgeous munchkins who are trying to eat us out of house & home! Dd A born July 08 and ds J born June 12. V3 due October 2014.

Also selling handmade gifts etc at http://www.alittleroar.com
Kanga

Postby Marrow » 18 Jul 2015, 18:22

Some people like wide fabric straps - a mei tai or woven wrap works. Others (me!) like padded ruck-sack style straps and a big padded waist band. I'm an SSC person.