Complete novice - help me get started

Slings, buggies, carseats, cars, bike, trailers and Shanks' pony - however you and your baby are getting around, discuss it here. (Sling addicts ahoy!)

Complete novice - help me get started

Postby bigcatmaniac » 07 Sep 2014, 14:42

Hi there

We were given a baby Bjorn which I've been using a lot for dd2 so I can have my hands free to do things with dd1, cook tea, mow the lawn... You know the kind of thing. She's now 4 months and over 13lbs - so it's not been that comfortable lately, especially forward facing. She loves being in there though, and although I do use a double buggy too, she hates it and I usually end up popping her in the bb.

I'm going to an NCT sling library on Friday to look at other options. I almost bought an Ergo the last time they were on sale with Zulily but decided yo wait and try some out first. With dd1, I also had a mamas and papas flexi wrap but I didn't get on well with it - I felt dd1 was very slumped down in it and didn't seem very comfortable, and I got very hot with the three bits of material wrapped round me. In fact this is one of my main concerns about wraps generally - that I'll be too hot. So I sold it in haste, and am regretting not holding onto it now to try again with dd2.

Any recommendations?

Thanks

Bigcat.
bigcatmaniac

Re: Complete novice - help me get started

Postby FestiveTidings » 07 Sep 2014, 14:59

I didn't get on well with wraps either - I could never get them tight enough!

I bought an ergo from John Lewis (DH's work have us vouchers when The Wee One was born) and I love it. I've not worn it for getting things done (the Wee One is happy playing in his play nest and I just tote them both from room to room) but for out and about it's great. Just clip it on, but him in, clip it shut and pull on the straps to tighten. Done! Even DH has had a go and he loves it too.
Mum to Roo born Feb 2011 and Wee One born April 2014 - each one a miracle.
FestiveTidings