Gluten free cake recipe?

Post them up and every so often I'll snaffle them and put them on the blog, if that's okay? It'll save you the trouble of emailing them to me. (It will mean you lose out on our charming personal interaction but I sense you can live with that.)

Gluten free cake recipe?

Postby SharkiesMum » 15 Oct 2015, 19:59

My good friend has her 40th birthday next week, and we are on an all day study day Crawley! Not the ideal way to spend your 40th, so I thought I would make her a cake. She has cealiac disease so can't have any gluten. All the recipes I can see have weird ingredients like mashed potato!

Do any of you have a really nice gluten free recipe? I would like it to be a bit special and as close to a normal cake as possible. I have seen quite a nice recipe using lemon curd yogurt but it calls for xanthan gum which I have never used before. I am happy to give it a go - any advice on using this?

Thanks for your help!
A - April 2012
T - May 2014
SharkiesMum

Re: Gluten free cake recipe?

Postby Marrow » 15 Oct 2015, 21:25

I don't think there's a birthday cakey cake recipe there, but have you seen my fairly recent thread on gluten free baking? There's some good stuff in there that might be useful, or at least lead you up the right path.
Mum to a Courgette (July 2012)
Marrow

Postby Kanga » 15 Oct 2015, 22:29

I've recently made this for our church cafe & it went down a storm. This is tasty too if you'd rather something chocolate.
Mummy to 2 gorgeous munchkins who are trying to eat us out of house & home! Dd A born July 08 and ds J born June 12. V3 due October 2014.

Also selling handmade gifts etc at http://www.alittleroar.com
Kanga

Postby Mummamac » 16 Oct 2015, 09:30