Internet fun with toxoplasmosis

More little BLWers in the making... <rubs hands>

Internet fun with toxoplasmosis

Postby WishingBone » 18 May 2011, 08:12

Since the GP won't let me be tested for toxoplasmosis immunity on the basis that they would need clinical evidence of likely toxoplasmosis infection (which, as I pointed out, is a circular argument since it's an asymptomatic infection) I have been assuaging my salami-based paranoia by nerding out on the Internet. I now know more about Toxoplasma Gondii infection than is possibly normal, and thought I would share my findings with the only community of people likely to take a similarly close interest. 

I shall try to summarise my findings, though of course I am no expert and also I have heard that some things on the Internet are Not True. So due caution and scepticism are called for. 

Essentially, the TG parasite completes it's lifecycle via cats, and meat animals catch it by eating stuff contaminated by cat poo or eating infected rodents. Humans also catch it by eating stuff contaminated by cat poo or eating infected meat animals. As we all know, if you catch it for the first time in pregnancy this is a Bad Thing and causes all manner of baby destruction and deformity. The parasite in meat is killed by temperatures of over about 70C, so the advice is therefore to avoid all undercooked or uncooked/cured meat. 

So far so lovely in a perfect world. But what if you are a Bad Person and forget this sterling advice, and allow some Parma ham or a juicy steak to pass your lips while up the duff? Are you doomed to despair, or are there some mitigating factors that might nuance the message of 'you have harmed your unborn child, but we won't test you so go and stew for 5 months'?

Here is some stuff I have found out: